Art · Lifestyle · London

Visit: Taylor Wessing Photographic Prize 2016

Hi guys,

Today I thought I would do a  short write up about my recent visit to the Taylor Wessing Photographic 2016 exhibition. I went to the one celebrating the 2014 entries, and it was amazing, and this one had the same quality of work. I know people say art is subjective, but some of these portraits really stood out to me as remarkable.

From the two exhibitions I have visited of this particular collection, I have found that there is a great variety in terms of the actual work on display and there isn’t just a singular narrative portrayed. The exhibition heavily features people of colour and communities which one may not usually get an insight into, a fact which my friend remarked upon when we were perusing the work. Work such as Kovi Konowiecki’s portrait of a father and his two daughters, part of a larger series of portraits of Orthodox  Jews from around the world, were extremely compelling. I believe this is why the exhibition is so interesting, it does not try to dictate what a ‘good’ portrait is, rather it shows a range of portraits from everyday life with a personal feel to portraits that are part of a larger, ongoing series or that make a social or political message. Submissions for the prize are open to anyone over 18, something I find could be encouraging  for budding photographers or even more experienced photographers who may want the chance to get their work displayed.

Photography within the exhibition wasn’t permitted so I couldn’t take shots of the work but I would definitely recommend taking a visit. It’s running till the 26th of February so there’s a week or so left from when I publish this post, so definitely take a visit when you can! Here is the information:

National Portrait Gallery – St Martins Place, London, WC2H 0HE

Opening Hours: Daily 10.00 – 18.00
Thursdays and Fridays until 21.00

Take care, Rumaanah x

Follow me on instagram to see more: @rums_x 

 

Leave a Reply

