Activism · Humanity · Uncategorized

Article: ‘Muslims Raised More Than $100,000 To Repair A Vandalized Jewish Cemetery’

Hi guys,

Today I thought I’d share an article I read earlier on Buzzfeed, I want to make my blog a space where I share interesting and thought provoking posts, as well as the more lighthearted lifestyle content.

This article comes after a recent vandalising of over 200 headstones in a Jewish cemetery, something which is completely disrespectful, it is not out of the realms of possibility that this was indeed a hate crime, after so many Anti Semitic crimes all over the USA in recent weeks. After seeing this, two prominent American activists Linda Sarsour and Tarik El-Messidi decided to start an initiative to raise money to repair the damage done. Regardless of why the cemetery was attacked, I think campaigns like this to help a fellow community and showing solidarity and unity is more important now than ever before. It is truly heartwarming to see how we can all band together for a mutual cause, and I am so proud of those who contributed and continue to support others. This is what I and many other muslims stand for; peace.

I encourage you to read the original article and find out more –

Link to the original article, written by Julia Reinstein

You can still donate here

 

Until next time, Rumaanah x

Leave a Reply

