bloggers · dining · food · Lifestyle · London · places to eat · Recommendations · restaurant · Reviews · thoughts · travel · Uncategorized · visit

Visit: Hare and Tortoise

Hi guys,

Today before our lecture, me and a couple of friends from uni decided to get a bite to eat at Hare and Tortoise. I had never been there or even heard of it to be honest, but I’m glad we went. I’ve been wanting to go to a Japanese restaurant that is also halal so I could finally try chicken katsu curry and H&T did not disappoint!

I also wanted to share this post as I’m planning to make a larger ‘master’ post about the best halal places to eat in London. Finding a good place to eat which offers unique food and is also halal, can be somewhat hard at times so this is my attempt to help anyone who needs it out. I always look places up before going there, so hopefully you guys can try this place out sometime and see what you think as well.

On to the review! As mentioned above, I have wanted to taste chicken katsu for ages so I just had to order it. One of my friends Aishah had been here before and she recommended this dish as well, we all ended up getting the same thing, as well as a few starters. I ordered the chicken yakitori skewers and my friends went for the shrimp gyoza and the tori chicken gyoza. (All pictured below)

IMG_7071
Chicken Yakitori Skewers
IMG_7074
Chive and Shrimp Gyoza + Tori Chicken Gyoza.

The chicken katsu curry, which comes with rice, tasted amazing – I really enjoy curries. I’m south asian so it’s something I’m really comfortable and used to eating, but the katsu has a distinct and unique flavour which I really liked. The chicken breast is coated in panko bread crumbs and deep fried, super delicious and compliments the curry sauce which has potatoes and carrots too. It is a really filling portion, so I would advise coming on an empty stomach. Overall it is a really nice place to eat, with good service and great food. Also really convenient if you’re in central London, since there are easy bus and tube routes all around. I am definitely going to go back and would highly recommend it, based on my experience today.

IMG_7079
Tori Katsu Curry ft our messy napkins lol

Address: The Brunswick, 11-13 Brunswick Square, Bloomsbury, London WC1N 1AF

Opening Times: Monday – Sunday 12pm-11pm

Until next time, Rumaanah x

 

4 thoughts on “Visit: Hare and Tortoise

  1. Place was amazing! Delicious food and great friends ayy. Looking forward to the post about the best halal places in London. Will definitely be helpful !!

Leave a Reply

