bloggers · blogging · Lifestyle · London · Recommendations · student · Study · thoughts · Uncategorized · university

Top tips for Uni essays!

Hi guys,

As a second year literature student, I am definitely no stranger to writing essays. It is an unescapable element of my course, whether this be through coursework or exam settings. Not that I’m complaining as I knew what I signed up for! haha. However university assignments, especially essays with large word counts can be really daunting and sometimes it’s difficult to know where to start.

SO I thought I would mention my top tips for essays, although these work across the board for other written assignments too! As I study literature, some of this may be redundant if you’re studying say, the Sciences or Law but hope you can all take something helpful from this post anyway.

1.) Keep a record of all your primary and secondary material 

There is nothing worse than writing a 2500 word essay and coming to the end and then having to compile your bibliography and complete references. Keeping a record as you go along is much easier and way less stressful when you come to the end of the assignment!

2.) Planning

Now, I say this as a person who doesn’t usually like planning work out too much, most of the time I have a rough plan and when I’m writing my ideas flow and I produce exactly what I want. However not everyone benefits from a rough plan and some people need a strict map of their ideas, you know what works for you but I’d advise a plan of some sort, even if it’s a list of points you’d like to include or key topics, thinking ahead is key.

3.) Write a little each day 

Tackling an essay headfirst is much harder than doing a couple hundred words each day. For example: if your word count is 2000 words, even if you do 300 words each day you can get it done in around a week. This way makes sure you do work on it each day to keep ideas fresh and allows extra time for proof reading and editing.

4.) Email lecturers/ teachers if you need help

There are certain times when no matter how hard you try, you just can’t wrap your head around a question or a tricky part of an essay, in these times your lecturers are so valuable. Shoot them an email and I’m sure they’ll be helpful in clarifying anything or perhaps schedule a meeting with them.

5.) Use reliable critical material / resources 

This seems like an obvious one but it’s easy to fall into the trap of an unreliable internet source, make sure everything you use is from a credited source whether this be online or in a book. It will make your work better if you use an established critic for example as it will also be easier to access their work and quote it when necessary. Sites like JSTOR are great for finding this material.

Hope you found this post useful guys and let me know if you want more of these uni related posts as I really do enjoy writing them♡

Until next time,

Rumaanah x

 

10 thoughts on “Top tips for Uni essays!

  1. I, James am all too familiar with writing uni essays and every one of these points are so right! Planning and writing a little each day is my secret to getting it done on time! Although the thought of doing it all again next year is daunting me!

    Great post! Thanks for sharing! 🙂

    1. Ah tell me about it, I have one more year left for me in Uni so next year is my dissertation, super daunting! Good luck with it all, I’m sure you’ll do great! 👍🏽

  2. This is really good advice! I’m now at the end of my second year and as a history student I’ve pretty much got the good quality essay writing/planning down! It’s the procrastination I’m the worst with! I definitely agree that noting down all of your research is crucial, I wouldn’t know what I’d do if I didn’t!

    Thanks for sharing this!

    sophieannetaylor.com

    1. Thank you so much! & tell me about it, the procrastination bug is the worst haha, but at least we get it done eventually eh? Hope you’re having a great day + thanks for your thoughts xo

  3. I’m also an English major and I find that the more leg work I do in planning, the less difficult and time consuming the writing is. Even if I don’t stick to my plan, I try to get my thesis, topic sentence, and supporting evidence organized so then all I have to do is put it together. A lot of times my final paper looks totally different than my original outline because the writing process helps clarify my ideas, but I also know that my essay will have a solid structure to support whatever I’m trying to write. Awesome recommendations!! xoxo, Sarah
    lifestartzhere.com

    1. Thank you so much for sharing! I love hearing from others who study English + hearing their methods. Your process seems super helpful and I completely agree, having your thesis down and supporting evidence is so important. Have a great day! xo

Leave a Reply

