bloggers · blogging · Books · Lifestyle · literature · London · Recommendations · thoughts

My Ultimate Summer Reads

Hi guys,

Summer is the perfect time of year to get some reading done or maybe even re read some old favourites. I know I definitely have a pattern when it comes to what I read in the summer months. I have quite a few books which I consider good summer reads, they’re light, romantic and have their fair share of humour. So I thought I’d do a post based on what I always tend to read around summer time and hopefully you guys decide to give some of these a go! FYI: This list probably won’t appeal to everyone!

1.) The Summer I Turned Pretty trilogy by Jenny Han

I cannot state enough how much I enjoyed these books! My friend Iola will tell you how fast I sped through them, it took me about two days to read the entire series! If that’s not an indication of how good they are then I don’t know what is. The story follows Isabel “Belly” Conklin and her summers spent at Cousins Beach with her family and her mums best friend Susannah and her two sons Conrad and Jeremiah. The series deals with major themes such as first love, coming of age, loss and friendship. It will be sure to draw you in and take you on an emotional ride, it’s frickin amazing guys, seriously recommend.

2.) The Mediator series by Meg Cabot

I started reading this series quite a while back, when I was in my early teens (God it feels weird to write that) and it has remained a firm favourite. The series, consisting of seven books, follows Susannah “Suze” Simons and all her misadventures in life, love and high school. Sounds pretty standard right? The kicker here is that Suze is a ‘mediator’ that is; someone who can both see and speak to ghosts, whose role it is to help lost souls pass on to the other side. She also has another major issue: she may or may not have feelings for a dead guy, yup you read that right, a very attractive ghost in the form of Jesse De Silva who also happens to live in her bedroom. If any of you have read Cabots writing before – maybe the Princess Diaries? you’ll know how easy to follow and immersive her books are. I could re read these over and over and I would never get sick of them to be honest, give it a go and see what you think. Any book of Cabots is a perfect summer read but this series is in my top picks.

3.) Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

Now you’ve most likely heard about this book, or the movie adaptation at least as it stars some big names like Khaleesi, Breaker of Chains…sorry Emilia Clarke and Sam Claflin. It will make you cry, fair warning given but I felt like it deserved to be on this list because of both Louisa and Will’s story being so unique and heartbreaking. Plus it gives me a summer vibe, I don’t know why.

4.) Under the Tuscan Sun by Frances Mayes

I originally came across this story through the movie adaptation and fell in love. It’s a true story of Frances Mayes who moved from San Francisco to Tuscany in Italy after her marriage ends and she’s at a loose end. Maybe it’s because I’ve been to Tuscany myself but it always gives me such a heartwarming feeling whenever I see the movie!

Hope you enjoyed this post guys and let me know what you like to read during the summer, do you go for new titles or stick to your favourites?

Until next time,

Rumaanah x

 

 

 

 

18 thoughts on “My Ultimate Summer Reads

  1. I loved Me Before You! I was a sobbing mess as I finished it. And I was also a big fan of the Mediator series growing up. Meg Cabot was always one of my favorite authors as a teen. I haven’t read the others, but I’ll probably check them out when I get the chance (right now I’m reading American Gods and rereading Harry Potter).

    1. Same! I was absolutely heartbroken after Me Before You. Meg Cabot is so great, all her books are so easy to get into + ahh I usually save my re reading of Harry Potter to winter, I feel more inclined then haha. I’m reading a japanese crime thriller called Six Four at the moment x

  2. Thanks for the recommendations. I always need new ideas for books to read. I normally end up going to the library to pick at random which is very hit and miss. I hadn’t been sure if I’d be interested in Me Before You but it does sound worth the read. On the list it goes! πŸ™‚

    1. Aw that’s what I used to do and like you said it’s hit and miss! love when you find a really good book though, best feeling haha. Yeah I would definitely recommend giving MBY a go, see how you feel ☺️

  3. I really want to read Under the Tuscan Sun! Probably for similar reasons to you – having been to Tuscany and absolutely fallen in love with the place, it changes the perspective with which you read. I’m actually heading back to Florence in October and can’t wait! Chloe xx

  4. How have I still not read Me Before You??? My mum keeps trying to lend it to me but my to-read list is about ten feet long and I keep buying more books noooo. I loved the film though so I really want to read the book as the book is almost always ten times better.

    1. I know the feeling omg my ‘to read’ list is just as long! The movie was so good and I think it definitely captured the essence of the book, would definitely suggest taking a read one day though as it adds a lot more depth to the characters xx

    1. Yay! I’m glad to have found someone else who loves this movie as much as I do haha. I agree, it’s hard to find time to read on a busy schedule but in intervals where you’re not doing anything like before bed or on the way to work is a nice break x

  5. I never feel as if I have enough time to read all the books on my ever-growing list lool. This summer however there are a few books I absolutely want to read.

    1) Never let me go by Kazuo Ishiguro (dystopian science fiction)
    2) One hundred years of solitude by Gabriel Garcia Marquez (Magic Realism)
    3) For whom the bell tolls by by Ernest Hemingway (Military fiction)
    4) The sympathizer by Viet Thanh Nguyen (Historical fiction)
    4) Things fall apart by Chinua Achebe (Historical fiction)
    5) Cities of Salt by Abdul Rahman Munif (fiction)
    6) The culture series by Iain M. Banks (science fiction)

    1. Tell me about it! I have a list as long as my arm haha πŸ˜‚ & thank you so much for the list! They all sound amazing. I’ve read Never let me go and it was so good. Super emotionally charged. I really look forward to seeing your comments, they really do make my day x

Leave a Reply

