bloggers · blogging · Books · Lifestyle · literature · poetry · Recommendations · Reviews · thoughts

My Poetry Recommendations

Hi guys,

As well as being a complete book worm, I am also a huge fan of poetry. Years ago you would never catch me reading a poem as my knowledge of poetry was limited to the frankly boring material I had to study in school. Now however I read a lot more and am constantly finding new poets who I really connect with. I thought I would make a post listing my favourite poets OR specific poems which I  really enjoy.

1.) Milk & Honey by Rupi Kaur

I’m sure you’ve read or at least seen some of Kaurs work by this point, her poetry is widely shared on social media and her poems are super powerful despite being so short at times. Milk & Honey is full of great work and really resonates with me, especially her poems about femininity and culture.

2.) Home by Warsan Shire

This poem is probably one of my top favourites of all time, it is really relevant to the refugee crisis in recent years and has been used a lot by various writers to explore their thoughts. Here is a really powerful line or two from the poem:

no one leaves home unless
home is the mouth of a shark
you only run for the border
when you see the whole city running as well
3.) Let us always find each other by Tina Tran

Tina Tran is a young poet I came across on social media and I’m so glad I did. In the style of some of the other poets on this list, Tran has short, self contained poems which really speak to me. The one on this list is just super moving and romantic and I love it.

4.) Salt by Nayyirah Waheed 

I follow Nayyirah on Instagram and I see her work almost every day and I always find it so refreshing and current, no matter what the poem is about – in this particular collection as well – I just really enjoy her style.

5.) Bone by Yrsa Daley Ward 

6.) Lang Leav 

Another poet I found through social media, I just really love Leavs work. She has a way of making these intricate and beautiful images or stories almost through her words, read her work to see what I mean. My personal favourite is A Promise and Soulmates.

Hope you enjoyed this post + let me know who your favourite poets are or if you enjoy poetry?

Until next time,

Rumaanah x

 

11 thoughts on “My Poetry Recommendations

  1. Thanks for the recommendations!! I agree that poetry in school is boring but I love the poetry I find on my own. For some reason I’ve always preferred amateur poetry I find online (fictionpress.com) because there’s something so raw and real about it. These recs look great!

  2. Milk & Honey seems to be everywhere at the moment, so many people are chatting about it! I haven’t read much poetry aside from what we studied at school but I have been to watch a couple of slam poetry events in Glasgow which was really fun. Going to check out your recommendations xx

    Kirsty | The Monday Project | themondayproject.co.uk

    1. I’ve never been to see poetry performed live but those sound great! I definitely want to though and yes, definitely take a look and see what you think x

  3. I love poetry! My favourite poets are W.B.Yeats, John Keats, Sylvia Plath and Paul Durcan. Thanks for sharing your recommendations, I’ll definitely check them out!

  4. I wasn’t really into much poetry until I discovered Maya Angelou. I was reading her autobiographies and decided to read her poems and just couldn’t believe how amazing it was. Now I’m branching out, so thank you for the recommendations. 🙂

Leave a Reply

