bloggers · blogging · Lifestyle · mental health · personal · questions · relationships · thoughts

Why are we afraid of Change?

Hi guys,

Change is a natural part of life, in some form or another it’s inescapable. However As much as change is natural and is sometimes necessary, even a good thing, the road to accepting it can be difficult at times. I think largely it’s because we’re all creatures of habit and we grow used to the same routine. Sometimes, life throws a spanner in the works and that routine becomes messed up and we panic. Our attitude towards change is linked closely to psychology, and is linked to our perceptions of change and our outlook.

As well as habits being hard to break, I believe fear of the unknown and of the future can really hold us back from embracing change. The future seems murky and out of our control. It is in one sense, as we have no control which is frightening but then you have to realise we’re all in charge of our own lives. We all make a multitude of decisions every single day which have a snowball effect. I think by talking about these fears and rationalising them, it helps build a healthier attitude towards change and it stops it from seeming like an impossible obstacle.

Lastly, I think one of the hardest areas when coming to changes is within our relationships with other people. It’s always hard losing someone who has been important in your life, whether this is just the end of a friendship, breakup or something else. I know I’ve been really thinking about this since one of my closest friends is moving away in a few months and I’m going to miss her so much. This will inevitably change my life in so many ways so I’m trying to adjust to the idea everyday, to make it slightly easier on myself. Who am I kidding? I’m going to bawl.

I feel like a motivational speaker right now so I think I’ll stop here haha.

What are some of your experiences with changes? & how have you dealt with them? would love to chat with you guys!

Until next time,

Rumaanah x

 

 

11 thoughts on “Why are we afraid of Change?

  1. Lol at the motivational speaker part. change is hard even for me that preaches it everyday. I hang on to my old ways. Sometimes, a little too long and I get to pay the price. Now, I try to keep an open mind and I no longer listen to reply.

    I listen to learn even if everything in me screams. I have a question though, you said you switched from college to university. I don’t get you.

    1. Haha, I always try and insert a bit of humour into my posts – glad you picked up on that ☺️ & I think we all hang on to old habits and behaviours at times, we’re all on a journey and that’s normal so like you say just try to keep an open mind x & in the UK we call sixth form/ last two years of school before University ‘college’ sorry for the confusion! X

      1. guess the systems different worldwide, it can be quite confusing so I don’t blame you for asking 😊 hope you’re having a great day! X

  2. I think because change means that we ourselves have to grow and change and sometimes we’re afraid to do that. I loved this entry. I’ve been following your blog for quite some time, and I’m definitely hooked. Looking forward to your future content.

    Stop by and check out my posts!
    Mena
    femmerewritten.com πŸŒΈβœ¨πŸŒ·πŸ’•

  3. I always try to see changes in a positive way – and usually they turn out to be just that!
    I like to embrace and encourage change, unless it’s last minute changes to plans, I hate that!
    Saph xx
    simplysaph.blogspot.co.uk

    1. That’s a really positive attitude and I think that’s super healthy. I’m trying to channel more of that in to my own life & haha last minute changes to plans are the worst! X

  4. So true, change is terrifying but it is also such a golden opportunity to grow! Cherish what you have with your friend, make sure you keep up your friendship but keep living πŸ™‚ I moved away from home nearly 10 years ago but I still have several of my closest friends who live in my hometown. True friendship conquers any distance!

  5. Change is good some times but sometimes it’s so difficult to adjust to the change, just like when I left my school dormitory and changed to another school. so I concor to this. cool post

Leave a Reply

