bloggers · blogging · Lifestyle · questions · thoughts · Tv · tv shows

Game of Thrones Trailer #2 Breakdown!

Hi guys,

So the second trailer for Season 7 of Game of Thrones dropped a few days ago and it was EPIC. I was so psyched up after watching it that I proceeded to rewatch about six more times so I could catch all the finer details. Anyone who watches GOT knows that the show is rich with subtle features and the trailers full of these nods, which uber fans – which I consider myself to be, will pick up! I thought what better than doing a breakdown of key things I noticed. In the interest of not making this about 3000 words long, I’ve had to leave some things out but I think I have the main stuff covered. Without further ado, let’s begin the breakdown!

The trailer opens with a beautiful shot of Sansa walking away from the weirwood tree, in the Godswood of Winterfell, all the while we hear Littlefingers dialogue over this short clip. It’s not 100% confirmed whether he’s talking to Sansa but we can assume he is, as over the last few seasons he’s tried and succeeded in manipulating her and most recently in Season 6 tried to get her to take control. What he says here is very interesting, he states not to fight in the North or South but to fight every battle, always, mentally. This is something we see the crafty Littlefinger has been doing right from the start of the series, and it’s worked out pretty well for him. Seriously this guy hasn’t taken any L’s yet…We can see he’s trying to get Sansa to betray Jon, but will he succeed?

Screen Shot 2017-06-23 at 01.58.52.png
Opening shot of the trailer: Sansa at the Godswood at Winterfell

The next shot we see is one of Bran and Meera who have reached the wall, something I missed on the first watch as it was a long shot. I’m looking forward to see them finally reach the wall and what direction their story will go in. I’ve seen a lot of talk of Meera possibly dying, I can picture this happening because this is GOT and we don’t get happy endings but if it does, I hope it’s a badass end to a truly underrated character.

Screen Shot 2017-06-23 at 02.07.03.png
Bran and Meera reach the Wall

Following on from this there’s a few shots of all the main characters; Jon, Cersei, Dany, Arya and Jaime. You can just tell how much the higher budgeting is making a difference as costumes are simply on another level. Jaimes armour looks so well crafted for example.

Next shot! Dany arriving at Dragonstone !!! This is symbolic in so many ways as this was the ancestral home of the Targaryens and also where Stannis was based. We see her rip down the stylised Baratheon banner, the sigil of the stag enclosed in a flaming heart, this symbolises that Dany is ready for business and reclaiming her home. This is followed by an amazing shot of Drogon, Viserion and Rhaegal also at Dragonstone or maybe Casterley Rock (?)

Screen Shot 2017-06-23 at 02.21.48
Dany tearing down the Baratheon banners like a bawse
Screen Shot 2017-06-23 at 02.26.50
The dragons reach Dragonstone (?)

The whole time we hear a voiceover of Jon explaining that for centuries they have worked together to defeat a ‘common enemy’ and that ‘it has always been real’. I’m not sure whether he’s talking to Dany here, but I think maybe he’s talking to the Northern houses to unite them and help build an army for the coming war against the Night King and his forces. Overlapped by shots of the Hound, Greyworm (looking badass in a slasher like helmet) as well as Brienne and Podrick.

A few battle scenes here too, one on the field with the Dothraki, Unsullied and Lannister army – notice the gold lions emblazoned on the crimson shields? I think it was Robert Baratheon back in Season 1 who said that ‘only a fool would meet the Dothraki in an open field…this does not bode well for the Lannisters. As well as a fiery battle at sea, Euron Greyjoy vs Yara and Theon, which is sure to be spectacular.

Screen Shot 2017-06-23 at 02.38.26.png
Dothraki vs the Lannister forces

This is followed by a shot of a group of crows – this is actually called a murder, and if that’s not ominous enough, the next shot is an eery one of the Night King himself. Followed by Bran after warging, perhaps this scene takes place prior to an important battle or during? only time will tell. It also looks like Bran is back at Winterfell as he has a wheelchair now, bedecked with furs and is at a Weirwood tree, the same one as Sansa perhaps? I think the figure next to him is either the new maester or perhaps the old three eyed Raven accompanying Bran in a vision.

Screen Shot 2017-06-23 at 02.53.51

This is immediately followed by Beric Dondarrion, wielding a flaming sword and all! I think I actually screamed at this part because the hype is REAL. This confirms that the Brotherhood are with Jon and this means that the Hound is too. All these characters meeting again is getting me excited. The first time we saw the Hound was also at Winterfell so it will be interesting to see whether he reunites with Sansa or Arya. This season looks like it’s going to be the most action packed yet with multiple battles and pardon my language they look fucking amazing.

Screen Shot 2017-06-23 at 03.23.27.png
Dany on Drogon

Remember earlier when I mentioned higher budgets? Just look at how AWESOME Drogon looks. So realistic and the sheer scale is awe inspiring. You have to hand it to the design and special effects team, they have pulled it out of the bag consistently and this is no exception.

The last and arguably most talked about lines in the trailer come at the end. Spoken by Sansa: ‘When the snows fall, and the white winds blow. The lone wolf dies but the pack survives’. Now not only is this significant due to the Stark sigil being a direwolf and the symbolism there but this is also reminiscent of something Ned Stark says to Arya in season one. He mentions that Starks must protect each other and that they cannot fight a war amongst themselves – foreshadowing the coming conflict perhaps.

Screen Shot 2017-06-23 at 03.44.19.png
Is Jon the ‘lone wolf’?

A lot of people think Sansa is going to betray Jon but I can’t see this happening after everything. I also think this would be somewhat predictable. I think these lines about the ‘lone wolf’ could be in reference to herself, she knows she can’t make it alone. However if she stays united with her ‘pack’; Arya, Bran and Jon, they may be able to survive. I think she is going to play Littlefinger and make him believe she is following his wishes, but is in fact working in the best interests of her family. I would absolutely LOVE if she says this before she or Arya kills him. Now that would be a satisfying end to his arc.

What do you think? Are you excited for season 7? 

Until next time,

Rumaanah x

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Game of Thrones Trailer #2 Breakdown!

  1. Okay so I have never actually watched GOT (I know I know I should watch it) everyone I know who has watched it has recommended it to me telling me it’s my kind of thing but I’ve never had the time to watch and as more series come out it seems more daunting. Also I feel like maybe I should read the books first which is also a huge daunting task. But this trailer sound riverting and once again I am questioning why I still haven’t watched this yet!!

Leave a Reply

